Philip Steir

  • Philip Steir is an accomplished musician, remixer, composer and music producer. He co-founded and played drums in the critically-acclaimed band, Consolidated, which was signed to Nettwerk Records and later London Records. Consolidated released five albums between 1990-1996. Philip co-wrote all of the band's material, as well as producing much of the band's studio work.

    In 1996, he opened Toast Studio in San Francisco where he remixed tracks for numerous top artists including No Doubt, New Order, Korn, Moby, Rob Zombie, Foreigner, Bush, Live, Cake, Smashmouth and others.

    Click here for a full bio



  • The Who

    Philip's remixes of "Love Reign O'er Me" and "Going Mobile," from UMG's remix album, helped reignite and build the band's catalog for licensing opportunites in film, television, advertising and new media.
  • Pete Townshend

    In addition to remixing classics from The Who, Philip's remix of "Let My Love Open The Door" was also used to help reignite Townshend's catalog for licensing opportunites in film, television, advertising and new media.
  • Bee Gees 'Greatest'

    Philip was executive producer on this greatest hits album. He also remixed several tracks including "Stayin Alive," "You Should Be Dancing" and "Too Much Heaven."
    • #1 debut on Billboard's Pop Catalog chart
    • #1 at iTunes ("You Should Be Dancing")
  • No Doubt

    When No Doubt started work on their 'Rock Steady' record, they began first in San Francisco recording with Philip at his studio where the song "Hey Baby" was born, and eventually went on to win the Grammy Award for best pop single in 2003.
  • Seals and Crofts
    "Summer Breeze"

    Philip's remix of this hit song was used as part of Warner Brother's What Is Hip? Remix Project (of which Philip was responsible for creating) and was featured in advertising campaigns by Gap, as well as various films and television shows.
  • 300

    Philip's "To Victory (Sacrifice for Sparta)" remix was included on 300: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack.
    • #1 Top Soundtrack
  • Johnny Cash 'Remixed'

    Philip remixed "Get Rhythm" for this album of essential hits.
  • As music producer and supervisor, Philip produced the theme music for five seasons of The WB TV Network's image campaigns. For his work, Philip and The WB won four Promax Awards for "Best Network Promo."
  • Smashmouth

    Philip remixed the band's #1 hit single, "Walkin On The Sun," for Interscope Records.
  • Los Amigos Invisibles
    'Arepa 3000'

    This album was produced by Philip. It received a Latin Grammy Nomination for "Best Rock Album" and a Grammy Nomination for "Best Latin Alternative Album."
  • Kylie Minogue
    'Impossible Princess'

    Philip remixed the tracks "Too Far" and "Did It Again" for this album.
    • #4 Album in AUS
    • #10 Album in UK
    • Platinum in AUS
  • What Is Hip?
    'Remix Project Vol. 1'

    Philip developed and executive produced this Grammy nominated remix album for WB Records, also remixing many of the tracks himself. The revamped tracks from Seals & Croft, Rod Stewart, America, Devo, The Doobie Brothers, Todd Rundgren (and many more) created new licensing success in film, tv and advertising.
  • Steppenwolf
    "Magic Carpet Ride"

    Philip remixed the classic hit "Magic Carpet Ride" for the movie 'Go.' The track was also licensed by Dodge and Skechers for their ad campaigns, and used in various films and tv shows.
  • Lillix
    'Falling Uphill'

    Philip produced and mixed seven tracks from this album, including the hit "What I Like About You." The track became the theme song for the WB TV Show 'What I Like About You.'
    • #6 Top Heatseeker Album
  • What I Like About You

    In addition to being Music Supervisor, Philip composed and scored music cues for 3 seasons of this hit show on The WB Network.
  • Lifetime TV Network

    In addition to being music supervisor, Philip also produced and remixed music for the 2009 brand/image campaign for Lifetime Television Network. His spots made up much of the network's sound and look, as well as their on air promos and external advertising.
  • Junk
    "Life Is Good"

    Philip produced and remixed the track "Life Is Good" for the Agent Cody Banks: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack.